Skip to content
Go to GoCardless homepage
LoginSign up

The SEPA Zone: Which countries are a part of SEPA?

Rob Keating
Written by
Reviewed by

Last editedMay 20221 min read

The Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA) is an EU initiative to harmonise payments across the Eurozone.

Which countries are part of SEPA?

The SEPA zone consists of the 28 EU member states together with the four members of the European Free Trade Association (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland). Monaco Andorra, San Marino, and the Vatican City State are also part of SEPA.

SEPA payments are only used for euro-denominated transactions. For this reason, the percentage of customers reachable by SEPA payments varies on a country-by-country basis.

Eurozone countries

In Eurozone countries, all bank accounts that were previously reachable through a national scheme are now reachable via the SEPA payment schemes:

  • Andorra

  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Cyprus

  • Estonia

  • Finland (including Aland Islands)

  • France (including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Martin (French part), Réunion and Saint Pierre and Miquelon)

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Malta

  • Monaco (Monaco and San Marino have bilateral agreements with the EU to use the euro as their official currency)

  • Netherlands

  • Portugal (including Azores and Madeira)

  • San Marino (Monaco and San Marino have bilateral agreements with the EU to use the euro as their official currency)

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain (including Canary Islands and Ceuta en Melilla)

  • Vatican City State

Need an easy and cost-effective way to collect payments from European Customers?

Learn how merchants collecting SEPA payments via GoCardless always get paid on time and save themselves time, money & stress!

Read more about the benefits of collecting SEPA payments via GoCardless

Non-Eurozone countries

In non-eurozone countries, the SEPA schemes are only used for euro-denominated payments. Reachability is only required for euro-denominated bank accounts. For payments made in the local currency, national schemes should continue to be used.

  • Bulgaria

  • Croatia

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Hungary

  • Iceland

  • Liechtenstein

  • Norway

  • Poland

  • Romania

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

  • United Kingdom (including Gibraltar)

  • Guernsey, Jersey, and Isle of Man

SEPA and GoCardless

GoCardless is the online Direct Debit specialist. Merchants can collect and manage their SEPA Direct Debit payments from any of the countries in the SEPA zone, using our online dashboard or simple REST API.

Easily collect payments from your European customers without the need for complicated legal and financial paperwork. Save time and stress as GoCardless makes getting paid from Europe super-simple and hassle-free.

Sign UpLearn More

PreviousWhat is SEPA Direct Debit?

Interested in automating the way you get paid? GoCardless can help

Contact sales